As I’ve mentioned before I’m coming up on the end of the quarter and things are going okay. One benefit to living at your school is that it’s hard to get behind on your assignments.  If an instructor asks you to stay after and finish work, you can’t say, Oh, I can’t today, I have to pick up my younger sibling from school or some other excuse.  The instructors know where you live and they will find you.

Sometimes I feel like the odd man out, like everyone knows a secret and I’m standing there all confused and nobody really wants to help me.  I must say that feeling that way makes me more observant.  I’ve noticed that Emma is on some type of diet.  I wonder if Lolita’s constant focus on her barely there figure and pushing the envelope of appropriate school attire has got to her because I can’t say it doesn’t make me question myself.  Lolita is constantly flirting with the teachers, I’m beginning to think it’s just how she talks.  You can see that it annoys the upperclassmen when she puts on the sad puppy dog eyes to leave lunch to sneak off to her dorm and freshen up her makeup, or whatever.  Lolita will flirt with all the instructors, male or female.  You can tell most of the females will give in so she will just leave them alone but a few times she’s made male instructors red in the face. I don’t think any of them would do anything inappropriate because they really love their jobs, you have to if you teach at an all girls boarding school.  Most of the instructors live on or near campus and the female instructors can be dorm mothers.  Since the only males we have contact with outside of weekends are our instructors, most of the girls don’t wear makeup.  Usually we can wear what we want unless its a formal dress day but Lolita walks out the pages of Vogue almost every day.  Now back to the issue at hand.  Since there aren’t too many girls in 9-12th grade, we all eat together, with our class being the smallest.  During the last week or so, I’ve noticed Emma hitting the salad bar much more and barely eating her food.  Lolita likes to brag about how little she can eat and still have so much energy and recommended that people at her table try it.  I thought about trying it then I saw fresh french fries and all bets were off.  I’ve also noticed Emma adjusting and readjusting her clothes a lot.  Yesterday she even left lunch early and when classes resumed she was wearing a whole different outfit.  I’m all about getting healthy, but seeming unhappy while doing it doesn’t seem to work for anyone involved.

Gracie has been in her own head lately, but she could probably say the same about me. Taylor and Lolita (I know, her again), really did a number on her.  They thought it would be fun to all dress alike, just to break up the day to day monotony.  When Gracie showed up, she looked like the other two, but since Gracie’s outfit was not “designer”  they told her she looked like a model for Wal-Mart and told her to change because they didn’t want to be associated with that.  The instructor running lunch duty wouldn’t let her go, so she moped around all day.  I felt horrible for her.  I told her I thought she looked very nice but I’m pretty sure it went in one ear and out the other.  My approval is not the one she wants.

That’s all I have for now but it’s only Tuesday so I’m pretty sure I will have more to say by Thursday, or even tomorrow.

Leave a comment